Kazato Research Foundation 8th (FY 2014) Award Ceremony for Kazato Prize and Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

The Kazato Research Foundation (Chairman: Nobutaka Hirokawa) held the 8th (fiscal year 2014) award ceremony for the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize on February 28, 2015 at the Keidanren Kaikan Hall. Prizes were presented to the following four prize winners.

Kazato Prize

Shiro Suetsugu Professor

Graduate School of Biological Sciences Nara Institute of Science and Technology

[The study on membrane morphology regulated by membrane bindindg proteins]

Hidetaka Sawada Manager Group 1

EMBU Technical division

JEOL Ltd.

[Development of spherical aberration corrector (Delta Corrector) and SRAM

aberration measurement]

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

Hirohiko Niioka Assistant Professor

Graduate school of engineering science

Osaka University

[Development of new probes for correlative light and electron microscopy and

biological cellullar imaging]

Hikaru Saito Resercher

Quantum Nanoelectronics Reserch Center

Tokyo Institute of Technology

[Enhanced emission of plasmonic resonators analized by CL]

The award ceremony was well attended, including a representative from President of the Japanese Society of Microscopy (JSM), President of JEOL Ltd., members of JSM and related research institutions, as well as industrial researchers and past recipients of the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize. An award party was held after the award ceremony, providing a valuable opportunity for lively discussion and interaction among participants. The Foundation would like to express its sincere appreciation to all the participants.

Award Ceremony

Chairman's Address

Nobutaka Hirokawa Professor, University of Tokyo

Congratulatory Address



Presentation of Prizes, Speech from Prize Winners

Kazato Prize Shiro Suetsugu

Study theme:

[The study on membrane morphology regulated by membrane bindindg proteins]

Professor

Graduate School of Biological Sciences Nara Institute of Science and Technology



Kazato Prize Hidetaka Sawada

Study theme:

[Development of spherical aberration corrector (Delta Corrector) and SRAM aberration measurement]

Manager Group 1 EMBU Technical division JEOL Ltd.



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Hirohiko Niioka

Study theme:

[Development of new probes for correlative light and electron microscopy and biological cellullar imaging]

Assistant Professor Graduate school of engineering science Osaka University



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Hikaru Saito

Study theme:

[Enhanced emission of plasmonic resonators analized by CL]

Resercher

Quantum Nanoelectonics Reserch Center Tokyo Institute of Technology



Commemorative Photograph



Award Party

Greeting from the Foundation

Congratulated the prize winners and expressed expectations for a contribution to further development of electron microscopy with respecting breakthrough achievements by Mr. Kenji Kazato and Mr. Kazuo Ito, which became the basics of today's advanced science and technology.

Selection Members of Kazato Research Foundation, Michiyoshi Tanaka



Congratulatory Address

Congratulated the prize winners and encouraged their aggressive activities on behalf of IFSM.

Vice Chairman of the Japanese Society of Microscopy, Kazuo Furuya



Toast

Complemented the prize winners and pledged to continue to support young scientists by bearing in mind a passionate determination of the late Mr. Kenji Kazato, the founder of JEOL, to encourage young scientists.

President of JEOL Ltd., Gon-emon Kurihara



Social Time

Attendees enjoyed discussion and talking.



Closing Remarks

Congratulated the prize winners and expressed expectations for future excellent achievements leading to enhancing the prestige of the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize of the prize winners.



Selection Members of Kazato Research Foundation, Kunio Takayanagi