# Kazato Research Foundation 12th (FY 2018) Award Ceremony for Kazato Prize and Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

The Kazato Research Foundation (Chairman: Nobutaka Hirokawa) held the 12th (fiscal year 2018) award ceremony for the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize on March 2, 2019 at the Keidanren Kaikan Hall. Prizes were presented to the following four prize winners.

Kazato Prize

Satoko Arakawa	Junior Associate Professor
	Department of Physics and Electronics
	Medical Research Institute
	Tokyo Medical and Dental University
	[Discovery of alternative autophagy using ultramorphology]
Yoshiaki Sugimoto	Associate Professor
	Graduate School of Frontier Sciences
	The University of Tokyo
	[Characterrization and manipulation of single atoms and molecules
	by scanning probe microscopy]

#### Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

Daisuke Inoue	Postdoctoral Fellow
	the Biodesign Institute
	Arizona State University
	[Design of microtubule structure by DNA origami]
Takao Oi	Assistant Professor
	Graduate School of Bioagricultural Sciences
	Nagoya University
	[Clarification of the functional morphology of salt glands in Grasses by
	three-dimensional electron microscopy]

Lin Yung-Chang Researcher Nanomaterials Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology [Imvestigation of the magnetic moment of single transition metal atom by using scanning electron vortex beam]

Eita Tochigi

Associate Professor School of Engineering The University of Tokyo [Investigation of local deformation and fracture phenomena by atomic-resolution in situ TEM mechanical test]

The award ceremony was well attended, including a representative from Vice-President of the Japanese Society of Microscopy (JSM), President of JEOL Ltd., members of JSM and related research institutions, as well as industrial researchers and past recipients of the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize. An award party was held after the award ceremony, providing a valuable opportunity for lively discussion and interaction among participants. The Foundation would like to express its sincere appreciation to all the participants.

### Award Ceremony

Chairman's Address

Nobutaka Hirokawa Professor, University of Tokyo Congratulatory Address



## Presentation of Prizes, Speech from Prize Winners

Kazato Prize Satoko Arakawa

Study theme: [Discovery of alternative autophagy using ultramorphology]

Junior Associate Professor Department of Physics and Electronics Medical Research Institute Tokyo Medical and Dental University



Kazato Prize Yoshiaki Sugimoto

Study theme: [Characterrization and manipulation of single atoms and molecules by scanning probe microscopy]

Associate Professor Graduate School of Frontier Sciences The University of Tokyo

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Daisuke Inoue

Study theme: [Design of microtubule structure by DNA origami]

Postdoctoral Fellow the Biodesign Institute Arizona State University

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Takao Oi

Study theme: [Clarification of the functional morphology of salt glands in Grasses by three-dimensional electron microscopy]

Assistant Professor Graduate School of Bioagricultural Sciences Nagoya University







Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Lin Yung-Chang

Study theme: [Imvestigation of the magnetic moment of single transition metal atom by using scanning electron vortex beam]

Researcher Nanomaterials Research Institute, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Eita Tochigi

Study theme: [Investigation of local deformation and fracture phenomena by atomic-resolution in situ TEM mechanical test]

Associate Professor School of Engineering The University of Tokyo

### Commemorative Photograph







#### Award Party

Greeting from the Foundation

Yosaburo Shibata Trustees of Kazato Research Foundation

**Congratulatory Address** 

Syo Matsumura Vice-president of the Japanese Society of Microscopy

Toast

Gon-emon Kurihara President of JEOL Ltd.







Social Time Attendees enjoyed discussion and talking.





Masami Terauchi Selection Members of Kazato Research Foundation

