Kazato Research Foundation 17th (FY 2023) Award Ceremony for Kazato Prize and Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

The Kazato Research Foundation (Chairman: Nobutaka Hirokawa) held the 17th (fiscal year 2023) award ceremony for the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize on March 2, 2024 at the Keidanren Kaikan Hall. Prizes were presented to the following six prize winners.

Kazato Prize

Takahiro Shimojima Senior research scientist

Center for emergent matter science, Riken

[Dynamics study of the photo-induced high-speed phenomenon

by constructing a photoexcitation pump-probe electron

microscope system]

Junichi Ikenouchi Professor

Faculty of Science, Kyushu University

[Elucidation of molecular mechanisms of membrane structure

formation in epithelial cells]

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

Yuki Nomura Senior Researcher

Nanostructures Research Laboratory, Japan Fine Ceramics Center [Operando Transmission Electron Microscopy for Li-ion Batteries]

Takayuki Nakamuro Project Associate Professor

Presidential Endowed Chair, The University of Tokyo

[Quantitative analysis of molecular-level nucleation phenomena

through transmission electron microscopy]

Yuuta Imoto Assistant professor

Department of Developemental Neurobiology,

St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

[Identification of synaptic multivesicular body formation and its molecular mechanisms by time-resolved electron microscopy

imaging]

Naotaka Tsutsumi Assistant professor

Graduate School of Medicine, Okayama University

[Structural analysis of T2R bitter taste receptors by cryo-EM]

The award ceremony was attended Chairman of JEOL Ltd. and President of JEOL Ltd.

Award Ceremony

Chairman's Address

Nobutaka Hirokawa

Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo



Prize Winners

Kazato Prize

Takahiro Shimojima

Senior research scientist Center for emergent matter science, Riken

Study theme:

[Dynamics study of the photo-induced high-speed phenomenon by constructing a photoexcitation pump-probe electron microscope system]



Kazato Prize

Junichi Ikenouchi

Professor

Faculty of Science, Kyushu University

Study theme:

[Elucidation of molecular mechanisms of membrane structure formation in epithelial cells]



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize **Yuki Nomura**

Senior Researcher Nanostructures Research Laboratory, Japan Fine Ceramics Center

Study theme:

[Operando Transmission Electron Microscopy for Li-ion Batteries]



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize **Takayuki Nakamuro**

Project Associate Prefessor Presidential Endowed Chair, The University of Tokyo

Study theme:

[Quantitative analysis of molecular-level nucleation phenomena through transmission electron microscopy]



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize **Yuuta Imoto**

Assistant professor

Department of Developemental Neurobiology St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Study theme:

[Identification of synaptic multivesicular body formation and its molecular mechanisms by time-resolved electron microscopy imaging]



Kazato Research Encouragement Prize
Naotaka Tsutsumi
Assistant professor
Graduate School of Medicine,
Okayama University
Study theme:
[Structural analysis of T2R
bitter taste receptors by cryo-EM]



Commemorative Photograph



Award Party

Greeting from the Foundation

Yosaburo Shibata

Trustee of Kazato Research Foundation (Director and President, Fukuoka Prefectural University)



Toast

Izumi Oi

President & CEO of JEOL Ltd



Social Time Attendees enjoyed discussion and talking.





Closing Remarks

Kunio Takayanagi Trustee of Kazato Research Foundation (Honorary Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology)

