Kazato Research Foundation 5th (FY 2011) Award Ceremony for Kazato Prize and Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

The Kazato Research Foundation (Chairman: Michiyoshi Tanaka) held the 5th (fiscal year 2011) award ceremony for the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize on February 25, 2012 at the Keidanren Kaikan Hall. Prizes were presented to the following four prize winners.

Kazato Prize	
Masaya Uchida	Associate Professor
	Advanced Science Research Laboratory, Saitama Institute of Technology
	[Achievement of Electron Beams Carrying Angular Orbital Momentum]
Terunaga Nakagawa	Assistant Professor
	Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego
	[Analysis of Formation Process of Cerebellar Glutamate Receptor Complexes
	By Electron Microscopy]
Kazato Research Encouragement Prize	
Hirofumi Yanagisawa	Post-doctoral Fellow
	Institute for Quantum Electronics, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich)
	[Electron Coherence Measurement of Ultralow-Temperature Laser-Induced
	Field Electron Emission]
Aussie Suzuki	Post-doctoral Fellow
	Department of Biology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
	[Ultrahigh–Resolution Spatiotemporal Analysis of Aurora B to Control Cell Division]

The award ceremony was well attended, including a representative from the Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT), President of the Japanese Society of Microscopy (JSM), President of JEOL Ltd., members of JSM and related research institutions, as well as industrial researchers and past recipients of the Kazato Prize and the Kazato Research Encouragement Prize. An award party was held after the award ceremony, providing a valuable opportunity for lively discussion and interaction among participants. The Foundation would like to express its sincere appreciation to all the participants.

Award Ceremony

Chairman's Address

Michiyoshi Tanaka Professor Emeritus, Tohoku University



From Daisuke Yoshida, Director-General, Research Promotion Bureau Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT). Read by Yasuo Ishi Senior Specialist for Academic Societies, Scientific Research Aid Division, MEXT



Presentation of Prizes, Speech from Prize Winners

Kazato Prize Masaya Uchida



Study theme:

[Achievement of Electron Beams Carrying Angular Orbital Momentum]

Associate Professor

Advanced Science Research Laboratory, Saitama Institute of Technology

Kazato Prize Terunaga Nakagawa



Study theme:

[Analysis of Formation Process of Cerebellar Glutamate Receptor Complexes By Electron Microscopy]

Assistant Professor

Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, University of California, San Diego

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize

Hirofumi Yanagisawa



Study theme:

[Electron Coherence Measurement of Ultralow-Temperature Laser-Induced Field Electron Emission]

Post-doctoral Fellow Institute for Quantum Electronics, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH Zurich)

Kazato Research Encouragement Prize Aussie Suzuki



Study theme: [Ultrahigh-Resolution Spatiotemporal Analysis of Aurora B to Control Cell Division]

Post-doctoral Fellow Department of Biology, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Commemorative Photograph



Award Party

Greeting from the Foundation

Offered congratulations to the prize winners and expressed expectations for their further development of electron microscopy through activities of the prize winners.

Councillor of Kazato Research Foundation, Shohei Yamashina

Congratulatory Address Expressed congratulations to the prize winners and gratitude for the activities of the Foundation.

President of the Japanese Society of Microscopy, Hirotaro Mori



財団法人 風戸研究奨励

Toast

Complimented the prize winners and pledged to provide Japanese cutting-edge technologies around the world in collaboration with all the participants.

President of JEOL Ltd., Gon-emon Kurihara



Social Time Attendees enjoyed discussion and talking.



Congratulatory Address

Expressed congratulations to the prize winners and gratitude to continual support of JEOL for the activities of the Foundation.

財団法人 風戸研究_{奨励会}

Ex-President of Meijo University, Kazato Research Foundation Advisor (Kai-Yuu), Susumu Maruse

Congratulatory Address Offered congratulations to the prize winners and expressed expectations for future success of the world's top-level prize winners.

Ex-President of JEOL Ltd., Kazato Research Foundation Advisor (Kai-Yuu), Yoshiyasu Harada





Address on Behalf of Past Prize Winners Complimented the prize winners and pledged to continually strive to develop electron microscopy.

School of Engineering, the University of Tokyo, Associate Professor, Eiji Abe



Closing Remarks

Congratulated the prize winners and expressed expectations for future excellent achievements of the prize winners.

Selection Member of Kazato Research Foundation, Toyoshi Fujimoto

